Vels University,
Chennai – 600117.

Acculturation means cultural modification of an individual group, or people by
adapting to or borrowing traits from another culture. In other words it means
simply adjusting and adapting oneself to the conditions prevailing. Most
characters tend to always struggle for acculturation in Indian novels. The
protagonists of the novel are lead to alienation, frustration, sequestration,
segregation and quest for identity. In Indian novels there are abundant
characters. A cross – cultural condition erupts when the people of two or more
cultural groups come in closer contacts. What they bring nearer, along with
some other notions is their willingness in parting with their much sustained
totality of heritage, habits, customs. Even if these groups predispose, they
cannot merge the divergent cultural identities. This chiefly occurs due to the individual’s
strong indigenous psycho – cultural background, which puts them at the social
cross roads.

We Will Write a Custom Essay Specifically
For You For Only $13.90/page!

order now

Jhumpa Lahiri is an
Indian – American author who was born as Nilanjana Sudeshna Lahiri in London on
July 11, 1967, of Bengali Indian descent. Lahiri was born in London, the
daughter of Indian immigrants.  Lahiri
went on to attend Barnard College in New York, focusing on English literature.
She read at Boston University and obtained three master’s degrees in
Literature. Jhumpa Lahiri also completed a Doctorate in Renaissance. Jhumpa
Lahiri is a Pulitzer Prize-winning author known for works of fiction like
Interpreter of Maladies, The Namesake, Unaccustomed Earth and The Lowland. Lahiri’s
first book “Interpreter of Maldives” published in 1999 received plenty of
accolades immediately. In 2000, she was awarded the prestigious Pultizer Prize
for this fiction. “The Namesake” was her first novel published in 2003.  It was in the year 2008 Lahiri came up with
her second collection of stories “The Unaccustomed Earth” and it bagged the
prestigious Frank O’ Connor Short Story Award for 2008.